Home Browse Imprints and Partners Join Our Email List For Authors About Us Contact Us

Preview Book

A History of the County of Wiltshire


Availability  Available


Add to Wish List

Cricklade, the Anglo-Saxon borough fortified by Alfred against the Danes, is the market town at the heart of this volume. As a notorious rotten borough, its corruption influenced the passing of the 1832 Parliamentary Reform Act. The town and the surrounding parishes described here are bordered by Gloucestershire to the north and Swindon to the East. They extend along the upper Thames valley and over the Wiltshire claylands to the limestone ridge in the south. The royal forest of Braydon covered much of the area in the middle ages and provided extensive grazing for livestock. Although disafforestation took place under Charles I, agricultural exploitation was limited by poor soils and parts were later returned to woodland or nature reserve. The settlements of traditional limestone buildings were remote until canal and rail transport increased trade in dairy products and the expansion of employment opportunities in Swindon resulted in their residential development, and an annexation of a small part of the area by the growing town.


The VCH remains a nationally-important work of reference for historians of all kinds and many other readers. It offers a consistent, overwhelmingly reliable, and comparable base of information and understanding. ARCHIVES

The volume will be a mine of information for the local and national researcher. LANDSCAPE HISTORY

[T]he volume is a welcome addition to the series and researchers will find plenty of information here on the area in the title. THE RECORDER


First Published: 21 Jul 2011
13 Digit ISBN: 9781904356189
51 black and white, 21 line drawing illustrations
Pages: 332
Size: 30.5 x 20.8
Binding: Hardback
Imprint: Victoria County History
BIC Class: HBLC1

Details updated on 05 Oct 2015


  • 1  Introduction: Cricklade and Environs
  • 2  Introduction: The Hundredal Structure
  • 3  Cricklade Borough
  • 4  Outer Cricklade
  • 5  Ashton Keynes
  • 6  Eisey
  • 7  Latton
  • 8  Leigh
  • 9  Lydiard Millicent
  • 10  Marston Meysey
  • 11  Minety
  • 12  Purton
  • 13  Braydon